Makeshift Curtain

The window over my bed faces east so on sunny weekend mornings, sleeping in is almost impossible. I am not a morning person and love to sleep in when I can so I decided to make a curtain for the window. Originally, I just grabbed some extra solid fabric and make a fast curtain.

But then I saw this beauty.

(via sotakeahike on flickr)

Aren’t these perfect?! I love the way the light coming through makes it look sort of like stained glass. I pulled down my curtain immediately and cut it in half. It took a little longer than I had expected (mainly due to being down and out for a few days due to food poisoning).

Here is mine.

And in the morning.

I put muslin on the other side of the patchwork part so it looks a little more finished from the outside. I am planning on making another for the other window in the bedroom. I think I may plan the fabrics a little more. For this one I just pulled out scraps I had and started sewing.

One thought on “Makeshift Curtain

Leave a comment